Diocesan Department for Education - H and N Diocese

Hexham and Newcastle Diocesan Department for Education


Revised Admission Arrangements for Diocesan Schools

A number of schools in the Diocese of Hexham and Newcastle are consulting on their admissions arrangements for 2019-20.

Please see the School Consultation list for full details of all schools who are consulting.

The consultations will run for a minimum of 6 weeks between 4 December 2017 and 22 January 2018.

If you would like to respond to any of these consultations, please contact the school directly for a response form.

St. Thomas More, Blaydon are consulting from 20 December 2017 until 31 January 2018. For details please see their website.

Local Authority Consultations

A number of schools are currently consulting as part of a local authority consultation. These are:

English Martyrs' RC Primary School, Sunderland,
Our Lady Queen of Peace RC Primary School, Penshaw,
St. Anne's RC Primary School, Pennywell,
St. Bede's RC Primary School, Washington,
St. Benet's RC Primary School, Fulwell,
St. Cuthbert's RC Primary School, Sunderland,
St. John Bosco RC Primary School, Town End Farm,
St. John Boste RC Primary School, Oxclose Village,
St. Joseph's RC Primary School, Washington Village and
St. Patrick's RC Primary School, Ryhope

Full details can be found on Sunderland City Council website.

Diocesan Admissions Guidance

Diocesan Guidance on Admission to Catholic Schools - September 2017.

Admissions Policies

Policies are available on individual school websites.

Admission Code

The School Admission Code is available here.

Further information on school admissions is available on the DfE website.

Admissions Appeals Information

For parents/guardians:


Notice of Appeal

Parent Guidance

For governing bodies:

Statement of Case

Statement of Case for In-year Appeals


The Admission Appeals Code is available here.